Election Results and Allocation of Seats in Parliament (National Assembly) and Provincial Legislatures: 2024

With the final results announced officially by the IEC on 2 June 2024, for the first time in South Africa, no single party won a mandate to govern. The ANC received a little over 6.4 million votes. This was followed by the DA and Umkhonto we Sizwe (MK), a new entrant to South African politics. The ANC only retained its outright majority in the Eastern Cape, Limpopo, the Free State, North West and Mpumalanga, down from the eight it held after the previous elections. The ANC is the opposition once again in the Western Cape. As with national government, coalition arrangements will also have to be forged in KwaZulu-Natal, the Northern Cape and Gauteng.

In the National Assembly, COPE, the NFP and the AIC will not be returning. New parties to the National Assembly include MK, Patriotic Alliance (PA), Action SA, Rise Mzansi, Build One SA (BOSA), Cape Coloured Congress (CCC) and United Africans Transformation (UAT). This election, a record number of 52 political parties contested the national ballot (compared to 48 parties in 2019).

The National Assembly has 400 seats allocated proportionally according to the votes parties received. The 2024 election was different in that there was a regional ballot. The regional ballot allowed for the contestation of independent candidates, and the ballot differed from province to province. The allocation of the 400 NA seats is done by factoring in national (200 seats) and regional ballots (200 seats) according to complex electoral seat formulas. See more here

In the Seventh Parliament, 18 parties will be represented. No independent candidates will be represented. Read more here


Keep comments free of racism, sexism, homophobia and abusive language. People's Assembly reserves the right to delete and edit comments

(For newest comments first please choose 'Newest' from the 'Sort by' dropdown below.)